Welcome to Pacific Islands Centre

Pacific Islands Centre (PIC), formally entitled South Pacific Economic Exchange Support Centre, is an international organization established in 1996 by the Government of Japan and South Pacific Forum to assist Forum Island Countries (FICs) in sustainable economic development through the promotion of trade, investment and tourism between Japan and the FICs.

South Pacific Forum, established in 1971, is comprised of fourteen FICs (Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati,  Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu) and Australia and New Zealand. It was renamed as Pacific Islands Forum in 2000.

PIC also takes part in the Pacific Islands Trade and Invest (PT&I) network as its Tokyo Office.